Beg, borrow, or steal buy: Golden Children’s Bible

In this occasional series of posts, I recommend resources for you and your family in 100 words or less. More detailed reviews may come later.

BeautGolden Children's Bibleiful, traditional language. The Bible, slightly edited–not a book of paraphrased Bible stories. Artwork inspired by the masters. Perfect for narrations. Large, durable format. Nothing inappropriate for kids. The best children’s Bible I’ve seen–and I’ve seen a lot! A classic. Great Christmas gift for your grandkids or godchild.

Two criticisms: 1) Blond-haired Jesus. I view this as inculturation. 2) Follows the Protestant canon. You’ll have to supplement for the seven missing books.

Connie Rossini

Read other posts in this series: Time for God

About Connie Rossini

Connie Rossini gives whole families practical help to grow in holiness. She is the author of Trusting God with St. Therese and the free ebook Five Lessons from the Carmelite Saints That Will Change Your Life. She writes a spirituality column for The Catholic Voice of the Diocese of Omaha, Nebraska, and blogs at Contemplative Homeschool. She is also a columnist for SpiritualDirection.com. Connie and her husband Dan have four young sons.
This entry was posted in Bible, Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Beg, borrow, or steal buy: Golden Children’s Bible

  1. Gina says:

    I clicked on the “inculturation” link. That was a very interesting piece on inculturation.

  2. Pingback: Beg, borrow, or steal buy: Time for God by Jacques Philippe | Contemplative Homeschool

  3. Pingback: Matthew 16 and the papal conclave for kids | Contemplative Homeschool

  4. Pingback: 3 reasons I love Catholicism: Truth, goodness, and beauty | Contemplative Homeschool

  5. Pingback: The power of stories | Contemplative Homeschool

  6. Tamara says:

    I am looking into a Children’s Bible for our homeschool. I remembered that you posted a recommendation last fall, but didn’t remember which Bible you wrote about. So, anyway, here I am checking back to see what I should get… and I’m wondering. Do you recommend this Golden Children’s Bible over the Fr. Lovasik Catholic Picture Bible? I really do want a children’s BIBLE, not paraphrased stories… I actually haven’t seen any myself, but had the Fr. Lovasik recommended to me elsewhere. Your thoughts?

    • Hi, Tamara. I looked at Fr. Lovasik’s Bible a few years ago and didn’t like it as well. In general, his books are really good. I think it was more of a paraphrase of the text. I really like my kids to hear the biblical language, similar to what they would hear in Church (and often times more beautiful than the current translation we use at Mass). I have 3 or 4 other children’s Bibles for middle grades (from 1st Communion’s, etc.) and none of them come close to the Golden Children’s Bible, in my opinion.

      • Tamara says:

        Thanks Connie! That really helps. I also want my children to hear the biblical language. I will be ordering the Golden Children’s Bible today!

Leave a comment