God, Mr. Darcy, and St. Therese

My husband taught me to trust in God. Mr. Darcy taught me not to be presumptuous.(Picture from Pemberley.com.)

Are you afraid of standing before God on Judgment Day? Does the thought of facing Him make you fear death? Even if you’ve committed mortal sin in your lifetime, you only have to fear God in one circumstance–if you die unrepentant, or with no intention of confessing your sin as soon as possible. Here’s how my husband, St. Therese, and Mr. Darcy taught me to think of the Final Judgment with peace.

My husband and I met through Single Catholics Online (now Ave Maria Singles). After emailing and talking on the phone for several weeks, we decided to meet in person. As I was preparing for our first date, my hands shook from nervousness. I told myself, “There’s nothing to worry about. It’s just Dan.” We had gotten along great in our conversations. We already knew a lot about each other. We were friends. We were old enough to have been completely genuine with each other, rather than acting a part. What did I have to fear? If it wasn’t God’s will for our relationship to deepen, it wouldn’t happen, but I knew Dan would not reject me as a person. Most (I’ll admit–not all) of my nervousness disappeared at these thoughts.

Jane Austen’s Mr. Darcy had no fear of his beloved Elizabeth Bennett. “I am not afraid of you,” he stated publicly. Yet Mr. Darcy is not a model of trust. He was presumptuous. Although Elizabeth never tried to hide her contempt for him, he refused to see it.  He interpreted her jibes as liveliness, perhaps even a gentle flirtation. He did not take her at her word. He could not believe that she could think poorly of him. His love was self-centered and blind. Elizabeth utterly rejected him.

Is it hope or presumption?

When we speak of trusting completely in God, we must distinguish between hope and presumption. If we, like Darcy, won’t take God at His Word, but insist on interpreting the Bible, the saints, and the teachings of the Church in a way God never intended, we have reason to fear. Elizabeth rejected Darcy’s first proposal, because there was more pride than love in it. Spiritual blindness could end in the shock of hearing God say, “I never knew you.”

But don’t despair. That’s the other sin against hope. God is not trying to entrap you. He takes no delight in punishing sinners (see Ezekiel 18:23). He is love itself. He is worthy of our trust. We must be open to His self-revelation, not construct an idol to worship and call it “God.” If we seek Him humbly, we have no reason to fear.

Next month, Dan and I will celebrate 12 years of marriage. We have four sons. We know each other better than anyone else on earth has ever known us. Dan has seen me at my best and at my worst. He knows my failures and my victories. He may not always understand me, but he is always loving and accepting. It would be ridiculous to be afraid of him.

True hope trusts in the Beloved, not oneself

English: Image at the beginning of Chapter 34....

Darcy proposing to Elizabeth. London: George Allen, 1894. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

After being rejected, Mr. Darcy had to start over. He learned humility. He learned to listen. He learned to put aside his discomfort with the Bennett family and to open himself up to possible ridicule for Elizabeth’s sake. He served her selflessly, not planning to propose again. And then, in love’s mysterious way, he won her heart. St. John of the Cross would have much to say about this–but that is a post for another day.

My relationship with Dan has strengthened my trust in God. God knows me better than my husband does. He sees inside my heart. “You discern my purpose from afar” (Psalm 139:2). He has heard every Confession. He saw the sins I forgot to confess. He watches my thoughts wander during prayer. He knows my motives better than I do myself.

He also knows my desires. He knows how long I have struggled against a temptation before I give in. He never misjudges me. I know that God will never judge me more harshly than I deserve. That comforts me and gives me peace.

St. Therese of Lisieux wrote, “I hope as much from the Justice of the Good God as from His Mercy… I do not understand those souls who fear so tender a Friend” (VI Letter to Her Missionary “Brothers”). And elsewhere, God “thoroughly knows the frailty of our nature. Of what then, should I be afraid? Must not the good and infinitely just God, who with such tender mercy deigns to pardon the Prodigal Son, must He not be just towards me too…?” (Story of a Soul, Ch. 8).

I am confident Elizabeth Darcy never doubted her husband’s love. She had had so much evidence of it. And we have the Cross, the sacraments, and the saints to show us how great God’s love is. On Judgment Day I will tell myself not to be nervous, despite the majesty of the Heavenly Court, despite my many sins. “It is just Jesus,” I will say. “How can I fear Him?” Or perhaps I will just look at Him without presumption and say, “I am not afraid of you.”

Connie Rossini

About Connie Rossini

Connie Rossini gives whole families practical help to grow in holiness. She is the author of Trusting God with St. Therese and the free ebook Five Lessons from the Carmelite Saints That Will Change Your Life. She writes a spirituality column for The Catholic Voice of the Diocese of Omaha, Nebraska, and blogs at Contemplative Homeschool. She is also a columnist for SpiritualDirection.com. Connie and her husband Dan have four young sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to God, Mr. Darcy, and St. Therese

  1. SaintlySages says:

    It gives me great joy to hear of a family like yours, Connie: alive with love, supporting one another faithfully, walking together with God through this life. God bless you and Dan and your family!

  2. Ruth Ann says:

    Your opening sentence about fear of standing before God at the General Judgment attracted me to read on. My conception of the Final Judgment was formed first in childhood and from looking at artwork depicting what it might be like. It was presented, at least in my young mind’s eye, as all one’s sins will be announced for everyone to hear. The whole idea was dreadful to me. Maybe it also kept me from giving in to temptation—at times.

    This notion of the Final Judgment has not been put to rest completely, yet. But I’ve come across some more hopeful explanations. I once read that God will say, “Thank you” to each person. Another time a Sister of Mercy told me that Jesus will greet each of us with a warm embrace, a hug. Of course we don’t know in detail how these things will take place.

    Connie, your examples in this post are very refreshing and add to my repertoire of thoughts that are more comforting than those formed in my childhood and youth.

    • I don’t think that what you learned as a child was wrong–just incomplete. We should have a healthy awe that keeps us striving to do God’s will. But reading St. Therese really changed my attitude from one of fear to one of confidence. God is not only just with our sins, but with our triumphs over sin as well.

      • Ruth Ann says:

        Yes, God’s justice looks at every angle and sees the complete and true picture of a person. Maybe there will be celestial applause for all the good that each person accomplished by responding to God’s grace.

  3. amyspen says:

    I really enjoyed your post, especially the comparison of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth to spiritual hope or presumption. Very creative!
    http://obeautyeverancient.wordpress.com/

    • Thanks for commenting, Amy. I was originally just going to write on what my husband taught me about trust, but I couldn’t get the words, “I am not afraid of you,” out of my mind. I hope it was a prompting by the Holy Spirit.

  4. littlesoul2 says:

    Connie, this is great! I love how you wove Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy through the piece. (You must be a big Jane Austen fan!)

    The greatest comfort I find in facing God at judgment is what Therese said about His Justice, and which you echoed in your comments about how He sees us as we truly are. That makes me think that His Compassion and Mercy will somehow be incorporated into His Justice….to say nothing of His Love. I think Jesus would love to hear you tell Him that you aren’t afraid of Him! So few would have that kind of trust, which He so longs for. Have a blessed weekend!

    • Thanks, Patricia! I just hope I can really say something like that, now that I’ve written about it. Yes, I am a major fan of Jane Austen, and 19th century British Literature in general. Blessings to you too.

  5. Amanda Rose says:

    As a huge Jane Austen fan, I was delighted that you managed such a wonderful analogy using Mr. Darcy! I have read Pride and Prejudice many times, and am always encouraged by the way both Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth (who herself started out quite prideful!) grew and changed withing the pages. I especially appreciate that now every time I read the book or watch the movie, I will be reminded of my relationship with God and that consider the difference between hope and presumption. Thanks for this great article!

    • Thanks, Amanda. We can learn a lot from the great authors, because, even when they weren’t specifically writing about God, they did write about the truths that resonate in our hearts.

  6. Ah…Pride and Prejudice and St Therese the Little Flower, all in the one blog post! All my favourite things!

  7. Pingback: Is fear or love the better motivator? | Contemplative Homeschool

Leave a comment