God calls you to holy poverty

File:Giovanni Paolo I e II.jpg

Cardinal Wojtyla with Pope John Paul I (photo in public domain).

When Karol Wojtyla (later Pope John Paul II) was bishop of Krakow, friends used to buy him new cassocks, which he would promptly give to poor priests in his diocese. He would continue wearing his old, worn-out cassock. In doing so, he imitated Christ, who “for your sake made Himself poor though He was rich, so that you might become rich by His poverty (2 Corinthians 8:9).” Not only those who take religious vows, but all of us are called to this evangelical (Gospel) poverty.

In the world, people avoid poverty. The Bible, however, blesses the poor and celebrates the virtues of the poor in spirit. The widow who was destitute gave generously to the temple; the rich young man “went away sad,” because he could not give up his many possessions to follow Christ.

When we have too many possessions, we easily become attached to them and place our trust in our own resources, rather than relying on God. Our many earthly concerns distract us from heavenly matters. We find it difficult to advance in holiness.

What is Gospel poverty?

In his book Happy are You Poor, Father Thomas Dubay gives an excellent apologetic for the virtue of poverty. He argues that Gospel poverty means more than simply giving of your time and talent, more than being detached from what you own, more than giving of your surplus. If I truly love my neighbor, I will be more concerned about his being fed and clothed than about my owning the latest gadget. If I do not actively aid the poor, my faith is dead (see James 2:14-17). We are commanded to lend without expecting repayment (Luke 6:34), and to share our goods until there is an approximate equality among all (Luke 3:10-11).

File:Brooklyn Museum - The Sermon of the Beatitudes (La sermon des béatitudes) - James Tissot.jpg

The Sermon of the Beatitudes by Tissot (photo courtesy of Wikimedia Commons).

This is a hard lesson to accept, and an even harder one to put into practice. I first heard this teaching when I was in college, but did not accept it until several years later, when I was preparing for my profession as a secular Carmelite. I periodically need to revisit the issue, asking myself where I may have regressed and looking for new changes I can make to my lifestyle.

For some, the realization of the call to poverty means immediately giving away virtually all their possessions. For most of us, there is a gradual growth towards perfection in poverty, as with the other virtues.

An examination of conscience

Since we all have different family sizes, jobs, levels of health, and positions in society, the Church does not give us specific rules on living Gospel poverty. Following the lead of Father Dubay, I offer here some reflections as an examination of conscience:

  • Do I make buying decisions based on an image I want to portray?
  • Do I give at least 10 percent of my income to the Church and charitable organizations?
  • When was the last time I volunteered to help those in need?
  • Am I a slave to fashion or the latest product craze?
  • Do I practice hospitality?
  • How do I handle interruptions of my time?
  • Do I waste energy?
  • Is there any item it would be difficult for me to give up?
  • Do I trust God with my finances?
  • What do I do with serviceable items I no longer need?
  • Do I consider the poor in the voting booth?
  • How much do I spend on entertainment?
  • Do I value silence?
  • Am I content with what I have?
  • Am I grateful?

I challenge you to pray over these questions and make at least one change in your life as a result. God will bless you for it. That is his promise.

Connie Rossini

Share with us: What is the biggest challenge for you in this area? How has the importance of Gospel poverty been impressed upon you?

About Connie Rossini

Connie Rossini gives whole families practical help to grow in holiness. She is the author of Trusting God with St. Therese and the free ebook Five Lessons from the Carmelite Saints That Will Change Your Life. She writes a spirituality column for The Catholic Voice of the Diocese of Omaha, Nebraska, and blogs at Contemplative Homeschool. She is also a columnist for SpiritualDirection.com. Connie and her husband Dan have four young sons.
This entry was posted in Virtue and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to God calls you to holy poverty

  1. sandeep says:

    Good one Connie

  2. When parents live a vow of poverty, that message is passed on to the next generation. Children learn more from example than they do by you telling them something. This was a good article. Loyd.

  3. Nancy says:

    Excellent. I realized how personally helpful this is when I started saying “ouch.”

  4. Michelle says:

    The 10% is the hardest for us. It seemed easier when I had much less, oddly.

  5. I love the concept of Gospel poverty. Everyone I know thinks I am out of my mind for it, but I think it is wonderful. Perhaps it is because “Holy Poverty” could easily be translated “Holy Simplicity” – and simplicity is a beautiful, freeing thing.

    • Yes, maybe if we stuck with the word “simplicity”, people wouldn’t have such a knee-jerk reaction against it. Simplicity has gotten a little trendy of late–I think of a few magazine titles. But, of course, true Gospel poverty must start in the heart, not with a cultural trend. Thanks for commenting!

      • You are welcome, and I like what you said about the knee-jerk reaction to poverty versus simplicity. But you are right, it can never become a trend. It has to be something more. God bless you!

Leave a comment